Indiana Debate Commission to Host Two 2020 Gubernatorial Debates

The Indiana Debate Commission will host two debates in this fall’s general election for the governor’s office. The debates, to be held October 20 and October 27, will include all three candidates on the ballot, incumbent Gov. Eric Holcomb and challengers Woodrow Myers (D) and Donald Rainwater (L).

Because of COVID-19 health restrictions, the two debates will be conducted in the studios of WFYI-TV in Indianapolis without a live audience. The moderators and candidates will be in the studio unless state or local health guidelines require the events to be conducted virtually.

Broadcast time will be 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. EDT. As always, all media outlets across the state are invited and encouraged to broadcast or live stream the debates.

The Indiana Debate Commission will announce moderators and provisions for taking questions from the general public in a later release.