The Indiana Debate Commission is gearing up for televised political debates for U.S. Senate and governor next year, continuing its work as one of the nation’s only nonpartisan debate groups composed of citizen groups and news media.

The IDC also has a new slate of officers who will guide the organization through the 2016 debate season.

Dates and venues have not yet been decided, but the IDC board has already begun work that involves planning and executing the debates. There will be debates during the fall campaign season and debates during the primary campaign season as needed.

“The Indiana Debate Commission since its founding in 2007 has been the sole provider of televised debates for the U.S. Senate and governor,” noted Dan Byron, president of the IDC and a founding board member. “As our motto of ‘Putting Voters First’ suggests, our responsibility is to the voting public to ensure that they have access to fair, unbiased debates organized by a nonpartisan organization.”

The commission, which hosted televised gubernatorial debates in its first year of operation in 2008, has had debates for the two highest statewide offices in every election year since then.

Details of the IDC’s plans, which will include debate dates, venues selected to host them and formats, will be announced as they become available in 2016.

The commission’s slate of officers, elected in January, consists of:

  • President: Dan Byron, partner in the law firm of Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP, Indianapolis.
  • Vice president: Keith Robinson, coordinator of news and public affairs, Purdue University’s Department of Agricultural Communication, West Lafayette.
  • Secretary: Cathleen Shrader, partner in the law firm of Barrett McNagny, Fort Wayne.
  • Treasurer: Gerry Lanosga, assistant professor of journalism in The Media School of Indiana University, Bloomington.
  • Immediate past president: Max Jones, editor of the Tribune-Star, Terre Haute.